Skip to content

Frank Capra – You Can’t Take It with You (1938)

18 Martie 2014

zgEhHArgcIkEgvYX3oXDsCk0dDQ

Grandpa Martin Vanderhoff: Maybe it’ll stop you trying to be so desperate about making more money than you can ever use? You can’t take it with you, Mr. Kirby. So what good is it? As near as I can see, the only thing you can take with you is the love of your friends.

*

Grandpa Martin Vanderhoff: What if all your deals fall through? Might be a good thing for you.

Antony P. Kirby: Man, you’re crazy.

Grandpa Martin Vanderhoff: Well, maybe I am, but I used to be just like you once. Then one morning, when I was going up in the elevator… it struck me I wasn’t having any fun. So I came right down and never went back. Yes, sir. That was 35 years ago.

*

Alice Sycamore: It’s for you.

Grandpa Martin Vanderhoff: Why bless my soul, a new harmonica.

Alice Sycamore: I got it for you for your birthday.

Grandpa Martin Vanderhoff: How do you know when my birthday is? Even I don’t know.

Alice Sycamore: Anytime I get an impulse to get you something, that’s your birthday.

*

Grandpa Martin Vanderhoff: Penny, why don’t you write a play about „Ism-Mania”?

Penny Sycamore: Ism-Mania?

Grandpa Martin Vanderhoff : Yeah, sure, you know, Communism, Fascism, Voodoo-ism, everybody’s got an „-ism” these days.

Penny Sycamore: Oh

[laughs]

Penny Sycamore: I thought it was some kind of itch or something.

Grandpa Martin Vanderhoff: Well, it’s just as catching. When things go a little bad nowadays, you go out, get yourself an „-ism” and you’re in business.

*

Grandpa Martin Vanderhoff: Lincoln said, „With malice toward none, with charity to all.” Nowadays they say, „Think the way I do or I’ll bomb the daylights outta you.”

No comments yet

Lasă un răspuns

